How I Learned Front-end Web Development for Free in Five Days

Last week, I set myself the challenge to become an intermediate front-end developer in just five days. This is how I did it.

Dave Bailey
7 min readAug 3, 2016

This is not my first learning experiment. Ten years ago, I challenged myself to learn French in 17 days and succeeded. Since then, I’ve taken entire degree programs online (as well as a couple of Graduate programs offline), learned more languages, and started several companies.

I couldn’t have done this without developing effective learning strategies, many of which contradict the widely-agreed model of how to learn something new. Some of them have even spurred debate at Ivy League universities.

Although I’ve had a lot of exposure to technical teams, I’m starting with only high-level technical concepts and virtually no practical knowledge.

Language learning as an analogue

I learned French to conversational fluency using a programme combining many hacks and quirky techniques. Could I use analogous techniques to learn front-end development? So far, it looks like I can.

My language learning techniques included:

  • Audio/visual instruction — listening to Michel Thomas’…

--

--

Dave Bailey

CEO of Founder Coach, providing training and mentorship for the next generation of great CEOs. Visit FounderCoach.com for details.